Welcome to the Long Island City YMCA. Our Y is more than just a gym featuring state-of-the-art exercise equipment and an indoor pool; our youth programs, education classes and comprehensive childcare create a community committed to helping you achieve your goals.

Leadership Staff

Sabrina Snyder
Executive Director
ssnyder@ymcanyc.org
718-392-7932


TBD
Membership & Healthy Lifestyles Director

718-392-7932

 

Joyce Fenteng
Membership Coordinator
jfenteng@ymcanyc.org
718-392-7932


Mohinder Rana
Aquatics Director
mrana@ymcanyc.org
718-392-7932 x6320


Rosa Paucar
Early Childhood Director
rpaucar@ymcanyc.org
718-392-7932 x6316


Lillian Morales
Youth & Family Director
lmorales@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2568


Agnieszka Krzyszkowski
Business Manager
Akrzyszkowski@ymcanyc.org
718-392-7932


Andres Calixto
Building Engineer
acalixto@ymcanyc.org
718-392-7932 x6303

History

Now located near the intersection of Queens Boulevard and Van Dam Street, the Long Island City (LIC) YMCA branch was established in 1919. The branch has operated for generations from several rented and purpose-built different facilities; its first full-facility building was constructed in 1999, nearly 80 years after the founding of the branch.

The early programs undertaken by the branch were supported by local industries, including American Chicle, National Sugar, and Sunshine Biscuit. These and other businesses encouraged their workers to participate in Y programs such as English-language and citizenship instruction during the branch's early years. For several years in the 1950s, the status of the LIC branch was reduced to that of an extension of the Flushing branch. In 1959 the LIC YMCA was re-established as a separate branch again. Under the leadership of Frank Tempone, long-time Executive Director, the Long Island City YMCA developed into a solid source of community activities.

The branch has a long history of providing extensive sports programs, most of which have operated at local school and park facilities and fields. Several professional athletes emerged from the LIC YMCA's sports programs over the years, including three-time Stanley Cup winning hockey player Joey Mullen.

More from the YMCA