Welcome to the Harlem YMCA, located in the heart of the historic, diverse, and culturally rich neighborhood of Harlem in Upper Manhattan. We offer state-of-the-art exercise equipment, a pool, programs for kids and teens, and a community committed to helping you achieve your goals.

Staff

Steve Lawrence
Executive Director
slawrence@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2111

Latoya Jackson
Associate Executive Director
ljackson@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2162

Jamal Williams
Fund Development & Communications Director
jwilliams@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2164

Balan Iyer
Senior Business Manager
biyer@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2105

Racquel Arjun
Human Resources
rarjun@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2107

Gigi Davis-Booth
bai Coordinator/Executive Assistant
gdavis@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2113

Shearrod Duncan
Member Engagement & Sales Director
sduncan@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2112

Caroline Sanchez
Youth & Family Director
csanchez@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2167

Michael Lopin
Residence Director
mlopin@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2100

Justin Daniels
Aquatics Director
jdaniels@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2116

Yury Rusakov
Facilities Director
yrusakov@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2110

Jim Anderson
New Americans Initiative Director
jaanderson@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2163

Donté Jones
Personal Training Coordinator
djones@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2115

History

A significant landmark of New York City African-American culture, the Harlem YMCA is sometimes referred to as the "living room of the Harlem Renaissance." Established in 1901, the Harlem YMCA has remained a cultural steward of Northern Manhattan and continues to serve the area's multicultural neighborhoods and communities with innovative programs and services that meet the unique needs of the individuals and families that call Harlem home.

In the generations since it was established, the Harlem Y has been one of New York City's most vibrant cultural hubs. This historic institution has hosted and housed renowned American writers including Claude McKay, Langston Hughes, and Richard Wright; mounted theatrical productions starring legendary actors including Paul Robeson, Ossie Davis, Ruby Dee, and Cicely Tyson; and provided a forum for religious and civil rights leader Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. to preach his vision of equality and social justice.

The national fight for desegregation turned the branch's eye towards poverty and urban issues that were affecting its membership and service population. Programs such as the Youth Enrichment Program, which dealt with drug abuse prevention and basketball programs all were different methods for producing role models for African-American children to look up to and real methods to equip them with the tools to succeed in life.

In 1971, financial consultant Dr. Leo B. Marsh initiated the Black Achievers program we know today: a volunteer adult mentoring model that helps youth to raise their academic standards and develop a positive sense of self. The program later expanded to support all teens of color.

In response to increasing numbers of immigrants settling in West Harlem, Central Harlem, and Hamilton Heights, in 2008 the Harlem Y established a New Americans Welcome Center (NAWC)-- one of six such centers owned and operated by the Y across New York City.

The Harlem Y has offered English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) classes since 2007, with the program expanding to include instruction in advanced English, citizenship preparation, computer literacy, and job readiness. Building upon this momentum, in 2011 the YMCA of Greater New York won a grant in the amount of $325,000 per year over the course of three years from the New York State Education Department to create a "Literacy Zone" at the Harlem Y's NAWC.

In March 2012, the Harlem Y received the Janice Reals Ellig YMCA Transformational Leadership Award for exceeding its fundraising goals, maintaining exemplary management of facility and staff, and strengthening and serving the community in meaningful ways. 

In April 2012, the Harlem Y won the prestigious American Dreamer Award in the "Community Builder" category from the NYC Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs (MOIA). The American Dreamer Awards recognize individuals or organizations that are making a profound impact on the lives of immigrant New Yorkers.