Welcome to the historic Prospect Park YMCA. We are conveniently located across the street from Prospect Park and offer state-of-the-art exercise equipment, two pools, childcare, and a community committed to helping you achieve your goals.

Leadership Staff

Erika Rautenstrauch
Executive Director
erautenstrauch@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2390

 

Emma Isles
Associate Executive Director
eisles@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2377

 

Rebecca Block
Communications & Fund Development Director
rblock@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2371

 

Meghan Gough
Membership Sales & Engagement Director
mgough@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2379

 

Gunnar Zuber
Aquatics Director
gzuber@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2368

 

Mahadai Somaroo
Business Manager
msomaroo@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2374

 

Leah Krieble
Arts & Culture Director
lkrieble@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2588

 

Shakila Monk
Property Director
smonk@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2381

 

Nabila Khan
New Americans Initiative Director
nkhan@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2375

Community Partners

Gnarly Eats 
447 7th Avenue (at 15th St) 

 

Pita and Sticks 
321 9th Street (at 5th St) 
www.pitasandsticks.com 

 

Pizza Plus 
359 7th Avenue (at 10th St) 
www.pizzaplusmenu.com 

 

Stoop Juice 
443 7th Avenue (at 15th St) 
www.stoopjuice.com 

 

Slope Cellers 
436 7th Ave (at 15th St) 
www.slopecellars.com 

 

Flower of Life Chiropractic 
917 8th Ave (at 10th St) 
www.folcny.com

 

Park Slope Driving School 
323 9th Avenue (at 5th St) 

 

Park Slope Podiatry 
360 9th Street (at 6th Ave) 
www.parkslopepodiatry.com 

 

Townsley & Gay Realty 
177 7th Avenue (at 1st St) 
www.townsleyandg.com 

 

Urban Optical 
326 7th Ave (at 9th St) 
www.urbanoptical.com 

 

Smart Hair Studio
282 Prospect Park W. (at 18th St)
www.smarthairstudiony.com 

 

7th Avenue Copy Shop 
315 7th Avenue (at 8th St) 
www.7thavecopy.com 

 

Ansonia Chemist 
358 7th Ave (at 10th Street) 

 

Brooke’s Appliances 
378 7th Avenue (at 12th St) 
www.brookesewvac.com 

 

El Milagro 
370 7th Ave (at 11th St) 
www.elmilagronyc.com 

 

Leopoldi’s Hardware 
415 5th Avenue (at 7th St) 

 

Otto 
354 7th Ave (at 10th St) 
www.ottobrooklyn.com 

History

The Prospect Park YMCA, located at 357 9th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues in Brooklyn, has been serving Brooklyn for more than 100 years. A fixture of Park Slope, the Prospect Park YMCA began its operations in a converted mansion in 1891. By 1923, the huge population growth in Brooklyn placed demands on the YMCA that made its building inadequate. The branch was closed, making way for an ambitious building campaign. In July 1925, the Prospect Park Y broke ground on its present site, and 18 months later, the current building opened.

In the spring of 2000, an $8.5 million renovation left practically no corner untouched. The facade was restored, the old lobby was replaced, all the facility program spaces were transformed, and a new family aquatics center opened.