Welcome to the historic Prospect Park YMCA. We are conveniently located across the street from Prospect Park and offer state-of-the-art exercise equipment, two pools, childcare, and a community committed to helping you achieve your goals.

Leadership Staff

Dordy Jourdain
Vice President, Field Operations; Executive Director - Prospect Park YMCA & Park Slope Armory YMCA
djourdain@ymcanyc.org
(212) 912-2390

Madhur Patel
Senior Program Director
mpatel@ymcanyc.org
(212) 912-2377

Nathaniel Hartlieb
Membership Coordinator
nhartlieb@ymcanyc.org
(212) 912-2379

Arley Morton
Aquatics Director
amorton@ymcanyc.org
(212) 912-2368

Yanique Newman
Sports & Healthy Lifestyles Director
ynewman@ymcanyc.org
(212) 912-2392

Mahadai Somaroo
Business Manager
msomaroo@ymcanyc.org
(212) 912-2374

Shakila Monk
Property Director
smonk@ymcanyc.org
(212) 912-2381

History

The Prospect Park YMCA, located at 357 9th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues in Brooklyn, has been serving Brooklyn for more than 100 years. A fixture of Park Slope, the Prospect Park YMCA began its operations in a converted mansion in 1891. By 1923, the huge population growth in Brooklyn placed demands on the YMCA that made its building inadequate. The branch was closed, making way for an ambitious building campaign. In July 1925, the Prospect Park Y broke ground on its present site, and 18 months later, the current building opened.

In the spring of 2000, an $8.5 million renovation left practically no corner untouched. The facade was restored, the old lobby was replaced, all the facility program spaces were transformed, and a new family aquatics center opened.

More from the YMCA