Welcome to the Park Slope Armory YMCA, one of New York City's largest community recreation and education facilities. We are conveniently located across the street from Prospect Park and offer state-of-the-art exercise equipment, classes for kids of all ages, and a community committed to helping you achieve your goals.

Leadership Staff

Erika Rautenstrauch
Executive Director
erautenstrauch@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2390

 

Jamel Davis
Associate Executive Director
jdavis@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2377

 

Rebecca Block
Communications & Fund Development Director
rblock@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2371

 

La'Toya Browne
Membership Sales & Engagement Director
lbrowne@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2538

 

Jasmine Rosa
Youth & Family Director
jrosa@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2587

 

Mahadai Somaroo
Business Manager
msomaroo@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2374

 

Leah Krieble
Arts & Culture Director
lkrieble@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2588

 

Shakila Monk
Property Director
smonk@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2381

 

Nabila Khan
New Americans Initiative Director
nkhan@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2375

Community Partners

Gnarly Eats 
447 7th Avenue (at 15th St) 

 

Pita and Sticks 
321 9th Street (at 5th St) 
www.pitasandsticks.com 

 

Pizza Plus 
359 7th Avenue (at 10th St) 
www.pizzaplusmenu.com 

 

Stoop Juice 
443 7th Avenue (at 15th St) 
www.stoopjuice.com 

 

Slope Cellers 
436 7th Ave (at 15th St) 
www.slopecellars.com 

 

Flower of Life Chiropractic 
917 8th Ave (at 10th St) 
www.folcny.com

 

Park Slope Driving School 
323 9th Avenue (at 5th St) 

 

Park Slope Podiatry 
360 9th Street (at 6th Ave) 
www.parkslopepodiatry.com 

 

Townsley & Gay Realty 
177 7th Avenue (at 1st St) 
www.townsleyandg.com 

 

Urban Optical 
326 7th Ave (at 9th St) 
www.urbanoptical.com 

 

Smart Hair Studio
282 Prospect Park W. (at 18th St)
www.smarthairstudiony.com 

 

7th Avenue Copy Shop 
315 7th Avenue (at 8th St) 
www.7thavecopy.com 

 

Ansonia Chemist 
358 7th Ave (at 10th Street) 

 

Brooke’s Appliances 
378 7th Avenue (at 12th St) 
www.brookesewvac.com 

 

El Milagro 
370 7th Ave (at 11th St) 
www.elmilagronyc.com 

 

Leopoldi’s Hardware 
415 5th Avenue (at 7th St) 

 

Otto 
354 7th Ave (at 10th St) 
www.ottobrooklyn.com 

History

The Park Slope Armory was originally commissioned by the City of New York in 2004 for $16 million to serve as an annex for the 121-year-old Prospect Park YMCA. Four years later, the facility was complete, and the Y was named to run it and pay for upkeep and improvements. The drill floor was converted to four basketball courts with a one-eighth-mile track around it, along with seating for parents, nannies, and others beneath the immense arched ceiling.

The Park Slope Armory originally opened in 1895. The Armory, which is 140,000 square feet in size, is comprised of two distinct parts: a drill floor and a garrison, which once housed offices. From the 1980s until 2004 an area of the garrison had been used as a 7--bed dormitory for homeless women, which currently is managed by the Church Avenue Merchants Block Association (CAMBA).

Upon opening day, the Park Slope Armory YMCA became one of New York City's largest community recreation and education facilities. The transformation of this historic space into a stunning new neighborhood recreational center is a creative example of the Y's adaptive re-use of a formerly under-utilized urban facility.