Located in Central Queens, the Jamaica YMCA offer state-of-the-art exercise equipment, a pool, programs for kids and families, and a community committed to helping you reach your goals.

Woman cycling at a YMCA of Greater New York fitness class

Become a Member

Coming soon!

History

Formerly known as the Central Queens YMCA, the Jamaica YMCA opened in 1928 on Parsons Boulevard. The black population of Queens had grown to more than 10,000 people, many of whom were settling in Jamaica, and this YMCA soon welcomed them as members.

The Jamaica YMCA is rich in history and culture. The facility has been housed in the same building for over 90 years and was originally used as a center for boys. Its expansive maze of rooms have been converted to meet the needs of the changing community, by providing member and non-members alike with a multitude of classes, programs, and services including guest rooms.

Thank you to our Community Partners

Leadership Staff

Cedric Dew
Senior Executive Director
cdew@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2201

 

Gloria E. Messam
Fund Development Specialist
gmessam@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2202

 

Sabrina Scott 
Membership Sales Engagement and 
Healthy Lifestyles Director
sscott@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2222

 

TBD 
Aquatics Director
212-912-2206

 

Juliet Beecher
Youth & Family Director
jbeecher@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2212

 

Carlotta Cuenca 
Camp Director
ccuenca@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2210

 

Lenis Perez
Director of BEACON Program
lperez@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2214

 

Thomas McTernan
Business Manager
tmcternan@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2207

 

Orlando Rivera
Building and Property Director
orivera@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2227

 

Andres Calixto
Building Engineer/Maintenance Supervisor
acalixto@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2225

 

Maximo Hernandez
Residence Director
mhernandez@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2223

Board of Managers

Courtney Davis, Chairman


Patricia Chin
Courtney Davis
Damien Escobar
Prince Felix
Cedric Hall
Anthony Hill
Stephan Jean
Dwayne Jones
Jennifer Kuhn
Kenneth Lewis
Vernetta Nelson
Mary Reda
Marcel Robin
Christopher Roker
Michelle Stoddart
Carmelia Taylor
David W. Thomas
Bernard Warren
Paul Williams
Brianna Young

More from the YMCA