Welcome to the Flushing YMCA. Our Y is more than just a gym featuring state-of-the-art exercise equipment and two indoor pool; our sports teams, immigrant services, and comprehensive childcare create a community committed to helping you achieve your goals.

Leadership Staff

Tiffany Dunbar
Executive Director
tdunbar@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9355

 

Loretta Glubiak
HR Coordinator/Business Office Manager
lglubiak@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9371

 

Joey Rodriguez
Fund Development and Communications Director
jorodriguez@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9358

 

Felix Hor
Aquatics Director
fhor@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9359

 

Michelle Lam
New Americans Welcome Center Director
mlam@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9352

 

Kianna Robinson
Membership Coordinator
krobinson@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9367

 

Lois Rothstein
Early Childhood Director
lrothstein@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9356

 

Sabrina Snyder
Senior Director, Youth & Family
ssnyder@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9375

 

Debbie Weick
Business Manager
dweick@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9354

 

David White
Membership Sales & Engagement Director
dawhite@ymcanyc.org
718-551-9367

History

The first YMCA branch in Flushing opened before the area was part of New York City, in 1895. It closed in 1897, however, due to financial problems. Not until 1926 did a branch reopen in Flushing, as part of the significant expansion of the Brooklyn YMCA, soon to be called the Brooklyn and Queens YMCA. The branch, as envisioned in 1920, served Bayside, Douglaston, College Point, Whitestone, and other communities in the immediate area. Ground was broken in December 1924, and the building was ready for occupancy in March 1926.

The Flushing branch broke new ground in several ways. First, by 1927 there were almost 900 women on the facility membership roles. Second, the Flushing branch planners were responsible for expanding the name of the association from the Brooklyn YMCA to the Brooklyn and Queens YMCA, a change that occurred in 1924. The Flushing branch became known for its swimming programs, and was the training home of several Olympic swimmers, including Lynn Burke, who won the gold in the 100 meter backstroke in 1960, and Wayne Anderson, a breast stroke swimmer who competed in the 1964 Olympics. Still with an avid swim team, the Flushing Flyers, the Flushing Y continues to take home medals at city and state YMCA swim competitions.

Today, the branch continues to welcome visitors from around the world, offering more than 125 hotel rooms and access to its world-class swimming and fitness facilities. The Flushing Y continues to build on its historic emphasis on aquatics, providing swimming classes for all ages and levels of ability.