Welcome to the Vanderbilt YMCA in Midtown East. We are located near Grand Central Terminal, Times Square, and the UN, and offer state-of-the-art exercise equipment, two pools, childcare, and a community committed to helping you achieve your goals.

Leadership Staff

Anita Harvey
Senior Executive Director
aharvey@ymcanyc.org

Janet LoCurto
Associate Executive Director
jlocurto@ymcanyc.org

Veronica Baburam
Assistant Director of Early Childhood
vbaburam@ymcanyc.org

Paul Crawford
Associate Family Programming Director
pcrawford@ymcanyc.org

Grisel Cruz
HR/Assistant Business Manager
gcruz@ymcanyc.org

Enrique Colon
Residence Director
ecolon@ymcanyc.org

Adam Gruberger
Senior Healthy Living Director
agruberger@ymcanyc.org

Ivy Guerra
Aquatics Director
iguerra@ymcanyc.org

Candy Halikas
Site Director, Julia Richman Education Complex
chalikas@ymcanyc.org

Pablo Hernandez
Senior Property Director
phernandez@ymcanyc.org

Balan Iyer
Senior Finance Manager
biyer@ymcanyc.org

Joan Kuo
Director of Early Childhood & Youth Programs
jkuo@ymcanyc.org

Robin Nathaniel
Youth and Family Director
rnathaniel@ymcanyc.org

Gina Olivieri
Youth and Family Office Manager
golivieri@ymcanyc.org

Angel Osorio
Membership Sales & Engagement Director
aosorio@ymcanyc.org

Nicole Pellerano
Site Director, TAG School Middle School
npellerano@ymcanyc.org

Samantha Poorun
Assistant Business Manager
spoorun@ymcanyc.org

Johnny Santana
Communications Manager
jsantana@ymcanyc.org

Andrea Scott
Site Director, TAG School Elementary
ascott@ymcanyc.org

History

Bearing the name of one of the YMCA of Greater New York's most benevolent families, the Vanderbilt YMCA Branch opened in its current location in 1932, and was then known as the "Railroad YMCA." Now focused on meeting the needs of nearby residents, office workers, and members of the United Nations community, the branch was originally established in 1875 to provide housing for the nation's railroad men. One of many "Railroad YMCAs" throughout New York City and across the country, the forerunner of the Vanderbilt YMCA was housed in the basement of the New York Rail Station on the site of today's Grand Central Terminal. These railroad workers found clean overnight accommodations, affordable meals, and an array of programs to occupy and enrich their time between journeys. The branch and its extensions moved multiple times over the decades, and once occupied sites where today's Roosevelt and Waldorf-Astoria hotels now stand.

The "Railroad YMCA" was renamed the "Vanderbilt YMCA" in 1972 in recognition of the significant role that railroad magnate Cornelius Vanderbilt and his heirs played in its history. Today, the Vanderbilt YMCA serves its neighbors in many ways, including through extensive youth programs, a health and wellness facility, guest rooms, and more than 125 different classes per week for adults, seniors, families, teens, children, and tourists. The branch also opened a fully-equipped early childhood center in 1990.