Located in the Castle Hill neighborhood in South Central Bronx, the Bronx YMCA is the only New York City YMCA to offer an outdoor pool, as well as state-of-the-art exercise equipment, an indoor pool, child care while you work out, and a community committed to helping you achieve your goals.

Leadership Staff

Sharlene Brown
Executive Director
sbrown@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2497

Nadia Arroyo
Aquatics Director
narroyo@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2490

Eslam Hassan
Property Manager
ehassan@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2490

Bharathi Iyer
Membership Director
iyerb@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2496

Stefany Navarro
Youth and Family Director
snavarro@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2494

Deborah Adams-Broughton
Executive Assistant 
deadams@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2499

Dorothy Kardash
Human Resources Assistant 
dkardash@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2490

Erika Hernandez
Healthy Lifestyles Coordinator
ehernandez@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2490

Jasmine Marsh
Membership Coordinator & Rental Coordinator
jmarsh@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2490

Thomas McTernan
Business Manager
tmcternan@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2490

Carla Singleton
Communications & Outreach Coordinator
csingleton@ymcanyc.org
212-912-2493

Selenie Villar
Glebe Senior Center Director
svillar@ymcanyc.org
718-829-1564

History

The Bronx YMCA was created in 1977 from a merger between the Bronx-Union branch and the Westchester-Bronx branch. The Bronx-Union branch, an outgrowth of discussions between the New York YMCA and the Young Men's Christian Union (an organization delivering YMCA services in the Bronx), was established in 1904 in a converted piano factory at 149th Street and Washington Avenue. The Westchester-Bronx branch began operations in 1946. It operated extension centers in Calson Point, Fort Schuyler, Morris Park, Sound View, Throggs Neck, Union Port, and Westchester Square.

In 1970, the Bronx Y opened a new building at 2244 Westchester Avenue after moving to temporary quarters in the Fourth Presbyterian Church. The merged Bronx branch increasingly adapted its programming to the changing needs of the community by establishing programs for the homeless. It also developed links between neighborhood seniors and local children to address problems caused by the uncertainty of many family situations in the branch's service area. In 2002, the Bronx YMCA completed a major property expansion. It is the only YMCA in New York City to boast an outdoor swimming pool.